

Election notice

Notice is hereby given that from

12.06. - 16.06.2023

the

Elections

to

50th Student Parliament

and to the

Student councils

of the University of Siegen will take place.

1. Time of voting

Voting will take place on the days indicated in the period 10:00 - 15:00.

2. Place of voting

Voting will take place at the following polling locations:

A) Adolf-Reichwein-Straße building:

Cafeteria AR-M

In front of the Audimax AR-D

Haardter Berg School AR-HB

B) Lower Castle Campus:

New Foyer US-C

C) Hölderlinstraße building:

3rd level, in front of the lifts H

D) Paul-Bonatz-Straße building:

Foyer PB-A

E) Emmy Noether Campus:

In front of the lecture halls ENC-D

You must bring your valid student ID with you to the election (§ 12 Abs. 4 WahlO VS)!

3. Electoral rights and eligibility

- a) For the Student Parliament
 - I. All members of the student body of the

University of Siegen, who have been enrolled since 08.05.2023 and are listed in the register of

voters are listed (§ 3 para. 1 WahlO VS). Anyone who is duly enrolled is a member of the student body.

- II. guest and secondary students are neither eligible to vote nor to be elected (§ 3 para. 2 WahlO VS).
- III. students on leave are entitled to vote and to be elected (§ 3 para. 3 WahlO VS).

b) For the student councils

I. All members of the student body are entitled to vote and to be elected in their respective student body.

Student body of the University of Siegen in the corresponding elective subject area, the

enrolled since 08.05.2023 and listed in the electoral roll

- (§ 3 Para. 1 WahlO VS). Anyone who is duly enrolled is a member of the student body.
- II. guest and secondary students are neither eligible to vote nor to be elected (§ 3 para. 2 WahlO VS).
- III. students on leave are entitled to vote and to be elected (§ 3 para. 2 WahlO VS).

4. Election proposals

a) For the Student Parliament

- I. Election proposals must be submitted in writing to the Election Committee in the AStA Office (AR-H 105) by 22.05.2023. If this is done electronically to the email of the election committee for the time being (wahlauschuss@asta.uni-siegen.de), please submit the original forms. The Election Committee provides forms for this purpose on the AStA homepage (https://www.asta.uni-siegen.de/index.php/studis/wahlausschuss/).
- II. the election proposal shall include the name of the list, contact details of the the name, matriculation number and faculty of the candidate as well as the name of the body to be elected (§ 8 para. 2 WahlO VS).
- III. the written declaration of consent and the complete address of the candidate, including e-mail address, must be attached to the election proposal (§ 8 para. 3 WahlO VS).

b) For the student councils

- I. Election proposals must be submitted in writing to the Election Committee in the AStA Office (AR-H 105) by 22.05.2023. If this is done electronically to the email of the election committee for the time being wahlauschuss@asta.uni-siegen.de), we ask that the original forms be submitted later. The Election Committee provides forms for this purpose on the AStA homepage (https://www.asta.uni-siegen.de/index.php/studis/wahlausschuss/).
- II. the election proposal shall include the name of the list, contact details of the the name, matriculation number and department of the candidate as well as the name of the body to be elected (§ 8 para. 2 WahlO VS).
- III. the written declaration of consent and the complete address of the candidate, including e-mail address, must be attached to the election proposal (§ 8 para. 3 WahlO VS).

The submitted election proposals shall be posted publicly at the university after the deadline, but no later than 26 May 2023, until the end of the election.

Objections against printing errors within the election proposals can be lodged with the election administration until 05.06.2023. The objection must be made in writing or in electronic form by e-mail (§ 9 para. 3 WahlO VS).

5. Number of members to be elected

- a) The Student Parliament has 25 members (§ 21 WahlO VS).
- b) Unless the respective student council constitution provides for a different number, the number of mandates to be awarded shall be seven (§ 26 WahlO VS).

6. Electoral system

a) For the Student Parliament

- I. For the election, the entire student body of the University of Siegen forms a constituency (§ 22 para. 1 WahlO VS).
- II. the election shall take place according to electoral lists (§ 2 para. 2 WahlO VS). Each voter has a total of three votes, which can be distributed among the lists themselves or among candidates from one or more lists (§ 22 para. 2 sentences 1 and 2 WahlO VS).
- III. voting in clusters is permissible (§22 para. 2 sentence 4 WahlO VS).
- IV. Every voter has the possibility to abstain from voting (§ 22 para. 2 sentence 3 WahlO VS).

b) For the student councils

- I. For the election, each student council shall form a constituency (§ 27 para. 1 WahlO VS).
- II. foreign students participating in the German course choose in their respective elective subject area.
- III. the election shall take place according to electoral lists (§ 2 para. 2 WahlO VS). Each voter has one vote (§ 27 para. 2 WahlO VS).
- IV. Every voter has the possibility to abstain from voting (§ 27 para. 2 WahlO VS).

7. List of voters

The list of voters can be viewed in the AStA office during office hours from 14.05.2023 at the latest.

Objections against errors in the electoral roll can be lodged with the electoral administration until 22.05.2023. The objection must be made in writing. The election committee will decide on this by 27.05.2023.

8. Postal vote

There is the possibility of postal voting (§ 11 para. 1 WahlO VS).

The absentee ballot must be applied for in writing by means of a personally signed document or in person at the election administration by 09.06.2023 at the latest. To apply for the postal vote, the student ID must be presented.

The absentee ballot papers will then be sent to the voter, but they can also be be collected in person from the AStA office (AR-H 105). The election letter must be sent by the last day of the election, the

16.06.2023 at 3:00 p.m. to the election administration.

The election committee and the election management can be contacted via the AStA of the University or by e-mail to wahlausschuss@asta.uni-siegen.de Siegen.

The election is hereby officially declared.

The election management

Celine Lea Erhardt Moritz Rossmann

Siegen, 08.05.2023