Election Announcement

It is hereby announced that the

10.06. - 14.06.2024

the

Elections

То

51. Student Parliament

and to the

Student Councils

of the University of Siegen.

1. Time of voting

Voting takes place on the specified days between 10:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m.

2. Place of voting

Elections will be held at the following ballot box locations:

A) Adolf-Reichwein-Straße building:

Bistro	AR-M
In front of the Audimax	AR-D
Haardter-Berg-School	AR-HB
Additional Mensa AR (Monday to Wednesday)	AR-M

B) Campus Lower Castle:

New foyer US-C

C) Hölderlinstraße building:

Entrance area at the main entrance H-A

D) Paul-Bonatz-Straße building:

Foyer PB-A

E) Emmy Noether Campus:

In front of the lecture halls ENC-D

You must bring your valid student ID card with you to the election (§ 12 para. 4 WahlO VS)!

3. Right to vote and eligibility

a) For the Student Parliament

I. All members of the student body of the

University of Siegen, which has been enrolled since 01.05.2024 and is listed in the directory of voters (§ 3 para. 1 WahlO VS). Members of the student body are those who are duly enrolled.

- II. Guest and secondary auditors are neither entitled to vote nor eligible for election (§ 3 para. 2 WahlO VS).
- III. Students on leave of absence are entitled to vote and eligible for election (§ 3 para. 3 WahlO VS).

b) For the student councils

I. All members of the student council are entitled to vote and are eligible for election in their respective student councils.

student body of the University of Siegen in the corresponding elective subject area, the enrolled since 01.05.2024 and listed in the voters' register (§ 3 para. 1 WahlO VS). Members of the student body are those who are duly enrolled.

- II. Guest and secondary auditors are neither entitled to vote nor eligible for election (§ 3 para. 2 WahlO VS).
- III. Students on leave of absence are entitled to vote and eligible for election (§ 3 para. 2 WahlO VS).

4. Nominations

- a) For the Student Parliament
 - I. Nominations must be submitted in writing to the election committee in the AStA office (AR-H 105) by 19.05.2024. If this is temporarily done electronically to the email of the election committee (wahlauschuss@asta.uni-siegen.de), we ask you to submit the original forms. The election committee provides forms for this purpose on the AStA homepage (https://www.asta.uni-siegen.de/index.php/studis/wahlausschuss/)
 - II. The nomination shall include the name of the list, contact details of the responsible person, name, matriculation number and faculty of the candidate as well as the name of the body to be elected (§ 8 para. 2 WahlO VS).
 - III. The nomination must be accompanied by the written declaration of consent and the full address of the candidate, including the e-mail address (§ 8 para. 3 WahlO VS).
- b) For the student councils
 - I. Nominations must be submitted in writing to the election committee in the AStA office (AR-H 105) by 19.05.2024. If this is temporarily done electronically to the email of the election committee (wahlauschuss@asta.uni-siegen.de), we ask you to submit the original forms. The election committee provides forms for this purpose on the AStA homepage (https://www.asta.uni-siegen.de/index.php/studis/wahlausschuss/)
 - II. The nomination shall include the name of the list, contact details of the responsible person, name, matriculation number and student council of the candidate as well as the name of the body to be elected (§ 8 para. 2 WahlO VS). III. The nomination must be accompanied by the written declaration of consent and the full address of the candidate, including the e-mail address (§ 8 para. 3 WahlO VS).

After the deadline, but no later than 27 May 2024, the submitted nominations will be publicly displayed until the end of the election.

Objections can be lodged with the election management against printing errors within the election proposals until 03.06.2024. The objection must be made in writing or in electronic form by e-mail (§ 9 para. 3 WahlO VS).

5. Number of members to be elected

- a) The student parliament has 25 members (§ 21 WahlO VS).
- b) Unless a different number is regulated in the respective student council statutes, the number of mandates to be awarded is seven (§ 26 WahlO VS).

6. Electoral system

a) For the Student Parliament

- I. For the election, the entire student body of the University of Siegen forms a Constituency (§ 22 para. 1 WahlO VS).
- II. Elections are held on the basis of electoral lists (§ 2 para. 2 WahlO VS). Each voter has a total of three votes, which can be distributed to the lists themselves or to candidates from one or more lists (§ 22 para. 2 sentences 1 and 2 WahlO VS).
- III. Accumulation of votes is permissible (§22 para. 2 sentence 4 WahlO VS).
- IV. Every voter has the option of abstaining (§ 22 para. 2 sentence 3 WahlO VS).

b) For the student councils

- I. For the election, each student council forms a constituency (§ 27 para. 1 WahlO VS).
- II. Foreign students who participate in the German course choose in their respective elective field.
- III. Elections are held on the basis of electoral lists (§ 2 para. 2 WahlO VS). Each voter has one vote (§ 27 para. 2 WahlO VS).
- IV. Every voter has the option of abstaining (§ 27 para. 2 WahlO VS).

7. List of voters

The register of voters can be viewed at the AStA office during office hours from 06.05.2024 at the latest.

Errors in the register of voters can be objected to with the election management until 20.05.2024. The objection must be made in writing. The election committee will decide on this by 25.05.2024.

8. Postal vote

It is possible to vote by post (§ 11 para. 1 WahlO VS).

The postal vote must be requested by 07.06.2024 at the latest, in writing by means of a hand-signed document or in person at the election management. To apply for an absentee ballot, you must present your student ID.

The absentee ballot documents are then sent to the voter, but can also be can be picked up in person at the office of the AStA (AR-H 105). The ballot letter must be submitted by the last day of the election,

14.06.2024 at 15:00 o'clock at the election management.

The election committee and the election management can be reached via the university's AStA or by e-mail at washlausschuss@asta.uni-siegen.de Siegen.

The election is now officially announced.

The Election Committee
Moritz Rossmann Jana Sticher

Siegen, 06.05.2024